DISPUTE RESOLUTION BOUTIQUE

Teynier Pic boosts its practice in the Gulf and Middle East with the arrival of Danny Rifaat as its fifth partner

Danny Rifaat is a member of the Beirut and Paris Bars.  He has spent his entire career in the Gulf and the Middle East: Lebanon, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi, Dubai) and Oman.

Prior to joining Teynier Pic, Danny founded Rifaat Associates, one of the leading law firms in Beirut, and Al Misnad & Rifaat in Doha.  Ever since his first arbitration experience at the ICC in 1995, he has built a significant arbitration practice in the region.

For nearly 30 years, Danny has been advising and representing corporate clients based in the Gulf and the Middle East, as well as major players in the global economy with regard to their projects in the region.  Danny has developed a strong expertise in real estate, construction, telecommunications, and infrastructure.

Danny’s experience includes acting as both arbitrator and counsel in international arbitrations conducted under the auspices of the leading global arbitral institutions (ICC, LCIA), as well as the regional institutions in the Gulf (Dubai International Arbitration Center (DIAC), Saudi Center for Commercial Arbitration (SCCA), Dubai Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Qatar International Center for Conciliation and Arbitration (QICCA), Oman Commercial Arbitration Centre (OCAC) and ADGM Arbitration Centre), and the Middle East (Lebanese Arbitration and Mediation Centre (LAMAC)).

In addition, he has appeared before domestic courts in the region including in Dubai, Amman, Doha and Beirut.  Danny has also extensive experience in the prevention and management of disputes and risks, including alternative dispute resolution mechanisms, as well as a cross-cutting understanding of the legal and business issues in the Arab world.

Éric Teynier, Managing and Founding Partner of Teynier Pic, comments: “We have had the pleasure of working with Danny for 25 years and we are delighted to have him join our team.  His arrival is a testament to our firm’s continuing international development, particularly in the Arab world, a region with which we have had and continue to have close ties.  With Danny, we aim to further strengthen our position in the Gulf and Middle East and our presence in the world’s leading arbitration centres.

Danny Rifaat adds: “I am proud to join Teynier Pic, a leading firm in dispute resolution whose reach extends beyond our borders.  I see joining Teynier Pic’s partnership as the logical and natural continuation of my long and fruitful collaboration with Pierre and Eric, with whom I have developed a close relationship for many years.  I feel perfectly at home in the – very international – Teynier Pic team, whose values and commitments I share.”

Press contacts:

Cécile Roche, MCBD Services, T. + 33 (0)7 82 23 40 46, E. cecile.roche@mcbdservices.com

Raphaël Kaminsky, Teynier Pic, T. + 33 (0)6 60 81 91 35, E. raphael.kaminsky@teynier.com

 


 

About Danny Rifaat:

Key dates

  • 1972: Born in Lebanon
  • 1994: Joins Raphaël, Ziadé, Abirached, Rifaat & Associés (Lebanon) as an Associate and later becomes a Partner
  • 1995: Is admitted to the Beirut Bar
  • 2008: Founds Rifaat Associates – Lawyers & Legal Consultants (Beirut)
  • 2011: Founds Al Misnad & Rifaat Lawyers & Legal Consultants (Qatar)
  • 2022: Rifaat Associates – Lawyers & Legal Consultants (Beirut) enters into a strategic alliance with Teynier Pic
  • 2022: is admitted to the Paris Bar
  • 2022: Joins Teynier Pic’s partnership

 

Biography

Danny Rifaat, 50 years old, was born in Beirut. He holds a Master’s degree in private law from the Saint-Joseph University of Beirut. In 1994, he joined Raphaël & Associés as a trainee, and became an associate at the firm after being admitted to the Beirut Bar in 1995. In 2006, he joined the firm’s partnership, following which the firm was renamed Raphaël, Ziadé, Abirached, Rifaat & Associés. In 2008, he founded Rifaat Associates in Lebanon, where he built a full-service multidisciplinary business law practice. In 2011, he joined forces with Khalifa Al Misnad and founded a law firm in Qatar, Al Misnad & Rifaat. In addition to his advisory work, he has developed an arbitration practice, acting both as an arbitrator and as counsel in international commercial arbitrations related to the Gulf and the Middle East. Since 2016, he has been listed on the panel of arbitrators of the region’s leading arbitration institutions. In October 2022, Danny was admitted to the Paris Bar and became a partner at Teynier Pic. Danny is fluent in English, French and Arabic.

About Teynier Pic:

Founded in 2004 by Eric Teynier and Pierre Pic, Teynier Pic is the first independent boutique firm dedicated to international and domestic dispute resolution in France. Our firm focuses on dispute resolution and offers a full range of services, from the prevention of disputes to the enforcement and setting aside of court decisions and arbitration awards, through to the conduct of arbitral and court proceedings, which is the core of our practice.

Our firm is recognised as one of the major players in litigation and arbitration, and acts for a wide variety of clients, whom we assist in their complex and sensitive cases.

We assist in the resolution of disputes on every continent. The vast majority of our cases involve cross-border issues. Our team is composed of lawyers with international backgrounds and profiles.

Historically based in Paris, we also are present in other major arbitration centres, such as London, New York, Dubai and Beirut, through strategic alliances with Griffin Litigation (based in London and New York), Nassif Arbitration (based in Dubai) and Rifaat Associates – Lawyers & Legal Consultants (based in Beirut).

ACTUALITÉS

Actualités

DISPUTE RESOLUTION BOUTIQUE

Teynier Pic renforce sa pratique dans le Golfe et le Moyen-Orient en accueillant Danny Rifaat comme cinquième associé

Avocat inscrit aux Barreaux de Beyrouth et de Paris, Danny Rifaat a effectué toute sa carrière dans les pays du Golfe et du Moyen-Orient : Liban, Qatar, Arabie Saoudite, Émirats Arabes Unis (Abu Dhabi, Dubaï) et Oman.

Avant de rejoindre Teynier Pic, Danny était associé fondateur de Rifaat Associates, l’un des principaux cabinets d’affaires de Beyrouth et du cabinet Al Misnad & Rifaat à Doha. Il y a développé une importante pratique de l’arbitrage depuis sa première expérience à la CCI, en 1995.

Pendant près de 30 ans, Danny a conseillé de prestigieux clients corporate du Golfe et du Moyen-Orient, ainsi que des acteurs majeurs de l’économie mondiale dans le cadre de leurs projets dans la région. Danny a, en particulier, développé une expertise substantielle dans les secteurs de l’immobilier, la construction, les télécommunications et les infrastructures.

Danny intervient en qualité d’arbitre et de conseil dans des arbitrages internationaux menés sous l’égide des principales institutions d’arbitrage mondiales (CCI, LCIA) et régionales, dans le Golfe (Dubai International Arbitration Center (DIAC), Saudi Center for Commercial Arbitration (SCCA), Dubai Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Qatar International Center for Conciliation and Arbitration (QICCA), Oman Commercial Arbitration Centre (OCAC) et ADGM Arbitration Centre) ainsi qu’au Moyen-Orient (Lebanese Arbitration and Mediation Centre (LAMAC)).

À côté de sa pratique en arbitrage, Danny plaide également devant les tribunaux nationaux de la région, notamment à Dubaï, Amman, Doha et Beyrouth. Danny jouit, en outre, d’une importante expérience en matière de prévention et de gestion des litiges et des risques, y compris en matière de modes alternatifs de règlement des différends, ainsi que d’une compréhension transversale des enjeux juridiques et business propres au monde arabe.

Éric Teynier, Managing Partner et co-fondateur du cabinet Teynier Pic, commente : « Nous sommes très heureux d’accueillir Danny, avec lequel nous avons le plaisir de collaborer depuis 25 ans. Son arrivée s’inscrit dans la continuité du développement de notre cabinet à l’international et plus particulièrement dans le monde arabe avec lequel nous entretenons, de longue date, des relations étroites. Nous souhaitons, avec Danny, renforcer encore davantage notre ancrage dans le Golfe et au Moyen-Orient et notre présence dans les principales places d’arbitrage mondiales ».

Danny Rifaat ajoute : « Je suis fier de rejoindre le cabinet Teynier Pic, un acteur majeur de la résolution des litiges dont la renommée dépasse nos frontières. J’ai la chance d’avoir pu tisser des liens étroits avec Pierre et Éric depuis de nombreuses années, aussi mon association avec Teynier Pic est-elle la suite logique et naturelle d’une collaboration pérenne et fructueuse. Je suis déjà parfaitement intégré dans l’équipe – très internationale – de Teynier Pic, dont je partage les valeurs et engagements ».

Contacts presse :

Cécile Roche, MCBD Services, T. + 33 (0)7 82 23 40 46, E. cecile.roche@mcbdservices.com

Raphaël Kaminsky, Teynier Pic, T. + 33 (0)6 60 81 91 35, E. raphael.kaminsky@teynier.com

 


 

À propos de Danny Rifaat :

Dates clés

  • 1972 : Naissance au Liban
  • 1994 : Collaboration, puis association au sein du cabinet Raphaël, Ziadé, Abirached, Rifaat & Associés (Liban)
  • 1995 : Inscription au Barreau de Beyrouth
  • 2008 : Fondation du cabinet Rifaat Associates – Lawyers & Legal Consultants (Beyrouth)
  • 2011 : Fondation du cabinet Al Misnad & Rifaat Lawyers & Legal Consultants (Qatar)
  • 2022 : Conclusion d’une alliance stratégie entre Rifaat Associates – Lawyers & Legal Consultants (Beyrouth) et Teynier Pic
  • 2022 : Inscription au Barreau de Paris
  • 2022 : Association au sein du cabinet Teynier Pic

 

Biographie

Danny Rifaat, 50 ans, né à Beyrouth, est titulaire d’une Maîtrise de droit privé de l’université Saint-Joseph de Beyrouth. Il rejoint le cabinet Raphaël & Associés en tant que stagiaire en 1994, puis devient collaborateur, après avoir été admis au Barreau de Beyrouth en 1995. En 2006, il en devient associé, le cabinet prenant alors le nom de Raphaël, Ziadé, Abirached, Rifaat & Associés. En 2008, il fonde le cabinet Rifaat Associates au Liban, depuis lequel il développe une activité full service et transversale en droit des affaires. En 2011, il s’associe avec Khalifa Al Misnad et fonde un cabinet d’avocats au Qatar, Al Misnad & Rifaat. En complément de son activité de conseil, il développe une pratique de l’arbitrage, agissant à la fois comme arbitre et comme conseil dans des arbitrages commerciaux internationaux en lien avec le Golfe et le Moyen-Orient. Depuis 2016, il figure dans le panel d’arbitres des principales institutions d’arbitrage de la région. En octobre 2022, Danny rejoint le Barreau de Paris et intègre Teynier Pic en qualité d’associé. Danny manie indifféremment l’anglais, le français, et l’arabe.

À propos de Teynier Pic :

Fondée en 2004 par Eric Teynier et Pierre Pic, Teynier Pic est la première boutique indépendante dédiée à la résolution de litiges internes et internationaux en France. En matière de résolution des différends, notre cabinet propose une prestation full service, allant de la prévention des différends, jusqu’à l’exécution ou l’annulation des décisions judiciaires ou arbitrales, en passant par la conduite de procédures arbitrales ou judiciaires, qui constitue le cœur de notre activité.

Aujourd’hui reconnu comme l’un des acteurs majeurs du contentieux et de l’arbitrage, notre cabinet intervient pour le compte d’une grande variété de clients, que nous accompagnons sur leurs dossiers complexes et à forts enjeux.

Notre activité se déploie sur tous les continents, avec une immense majorité des dossiers impliquant des problématiques transnationales. Notre équipe est composée d’avocats aux profils et parcours internationaux.

Historiquement présents à Paris, nous sommes également présents dans d’autres places d’arbitrage majeures telles que Londres, New York, Dubaï et Beyrouth, au travers d’alliances stratégiques conclues avec les cabinets Griffin Litigation (basé à Londres et New York), Nassif Arbitration (basé à Dubaï) et Rifaat Associates – Lawyers & Legal Consultants (basé à Beyrouth).

ACTUALITÉS

Actualités